woman holding open voting booth curtain

Election 2008

Important Message about LEARN NC

LEARN NC is evaluating its role in the current online education environment as it relates directly to the mission of UNC-Chapel Hill School of Education (UNC-CH SOE). We plan to look at our ability to facilitate the transmission of the best research coming out of UNC-CH SOE and other campus partners to support classroom teachers across North Carolina. We will begin by evaluating our existing faculty and student involvement with various NC public schools to determine what might be useful to share with you.

Don’t worry! The lesson plans, articles, and textbooks you use and love aren’t going away. They are simply being moved into the new LEARN NC Digital Archive. While we are moving away from a focus on publishing, we know it’s important that educators have access to these kinds of resources. These resources will be preserved on our website for the foreseeable future. That said, we’re directing our resources into our newest efforts, so we won’t be adding to the archive or updating its contents. This means that as the North Carolina Standard Course of Study changes in the future, we won’t be re-aligning resources. Our full-text and tag searches should make it possible for you to find exactly what you need, regardless of standards alignment.

Photo of the U.S. Capitol building at night

The U.S. Congress conducts its business in the Capitol building in Washington, D.C. (Image source. More about the photograph)

There are 13 congressional districts in North Carolina. A map of North Carolina’s congressional districts is available from the North Carolina General Assembly website. The site’s representation page also lets you look up your district by voter registration, by county, or by zip code.

If you’re registered to vote in North Carolina, you can access a sample ballot at the North Carolina State Board of Elections website. Your sample ballot will be customized for your address and will show you exactly what you’ll see when you vote on November 4.


District 1

Counties covered: Bertie, Chowan, Edgecombe, Gates, Greene, Halifax, Hertford, Martin, Northampton, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Warren, Washington, and parts of Beaufort, Craven, Granville, Jones, Lenoir, Nash, Pitt, Vance, Wayne, and Wilson

George Butterfield (D)
Dean Stephens (R)

District 2

Counties covered: Franklin, Harnett, Johnston, Lee, and parts of Chatham, Cumberland, Nash, Sampson, Vance, and Wake

Willis Adkins (L)
Bob Etheridge (D)
Danny Mansell (R)

District 3

Counties covered: Camden, Carteret, Currituck, Dare, Hyde, Onslow, Pamlico, Tyrrell, and parts of Beaufort, Craven, Duplin, Jones, Lenoir, Nash, Pitt, Wayne, and Wilson

Walter Beaman Jones (R)
Craig Weber (D)

District 4

Counties covered: Durham, Orange, and parts of Chatham and Wake

William Lawson (R)
David Price (D)

District 5

Counties covered: Alexander, Alleghany, Ashe, Davie, Stokes, Surry, Watauga, Wilkes, Yadkin, and parts of Forsyth, Iredell, and Rockingham

Roy Carter (D)
Virginia Foxx (R)

District 6

Counties covered: Moore, Randolph, and parts of Alamance, Davidson, Guilford, and Rowan

Teresa Bratton (D)
John Coble (R)

District 7

Counties covered: Bladen, Brunswick, Columbus, New Hanover, Pender, Robeson, and parts of Cumberland, Duplin, Sampson, Scotland

Will Breazeale (R)
Mike McIntyre (D)

District 8

Counties covered: Anson, Hoke, Montgomery, Richmond, Stanly, and parts of Cabarrus, Cumberland, Mecklenburg, Scotland, and Union

Robin Hayes (R)
Larry Kissell (D)

District 9

Counties covered: parts of Gaston, Mecklenburg, and Union

Andy Grum (L)
Sue Myrick (R)
Harry Taylor (D)

District 10

Counties covered: Avery, Burke, Caldwell, Catawba, Cleveland, Lincoln, Mitchell, and parts of Gaston, Iredell, and Rutherford

Daniel Johnson (D)
Patrick McHenry (R)

District 11

Counties covered: Buncombe, Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Polk, Swain, Transylvania, Yancey, and part of Rutherford

Carl Mumpower (R)
Heath Shuler (D)
Keith Smith (L)

District 12

Counties covered: parts of Cabarrus, Davidson, Forsyth, Guilford, Mecklenburg, and Rowan

Tyrus Cobb (R)
Melvin Watt (D)

District 13

Counties covered: Caswell, Person, and parts of Alamance, Granville, Guilford, Rockingham, and Wake

Brad Miller (D)
Hugh Webster (R)